Blog Tour: I Give You My Heart

Book Review and Giveaway: I Give You My Heart by SarahJane Ford

Today I am happy to bring you my book review for I Give You My Heart by SarahJane Ford as part of a blog tour from Rachel’s Random Resources. With a tagline ‘A terminal diagnosis. A life-saving sacrifice’ I was prepared with a box of tissues before I opened the first page.

I Give You My Heart Cover

I Give You My Heart Book Cover

Title: I Give You My Heart

Author: SarahJane Ford

Release Date: 29th Aug 2018

Genre: Romance, Woman’s Fiction

Purchase from Amazon UKhttps://www.amazon.co.uk/I-Give-You-My-Heart-ebook/dp/B07G3LHX7P/

Blurb

𝗔 𝘁𝗲𝗿𝗺𝗶𝗻𝗮𝗹 𝗱𝗶𝗮𝗴𝗻𝗼𝘀𝗶𝘀. 𝗔 𝗹𝗶𝗳𝗲-𝘀𝗮𝘃𝗶𝗻𝗴 𝘀𝗮𝗰𝗿𝗶𝗳𝗶𝗰𝗲. 𝗔 𝗹𝗼𝘃𝗲 𝗹𝗲𝘁𝘁𝗲𝗿 𝘄𝗿𝗶𝘁𝘁𝗲𝗻 𝗼𝗻 𝘁𝗵𝗲 𝘄𝗮𝗹𝗹𝘀 𝗼𝗳 𝗵𝗲𝗿 𝗵𝗲𝗮𝗿𝘁.
Alice Richards looked forward to watching the seeds of love she and her husband planted bloom and grow well into their old age. But her plans for the future shrivel up and die when she learns she has an inoperable brain tumour.
Determined that she won’t die in vain, she decides to become an organ donor. With a few precious months left, Alice begins documenting her fairytale romance—from their first meeting to the children they dreamed of having. She’ll pass on every detail to her heart’s next owner… along with careful instructions to send her husband reminders of her undying love. Before her time runs out, Alice must find the perfect candidate to guide her husband through unimaginable grief and hold the memory of their love in her heart.I Give You My Heart is an emotional romantic fiction novel with an uplifting message.

If you like strong-willed women, undying love stories, and honest portrayals of coping with a terminal illness, then you’ll love SarahJane Ford’s heart-warming epic.
An unmissable love story full of warmth, beauty and with a huge, beating heart. Perfect for fans of Cecilia Ahern’s ‘P.S. I Love You’ and Jojo Moyes’ ‘Me Before You’.

My Thoughts

This is a strong debut with a heart breaking but positive tale. It is the ultimate tearjerker celebrating true love and the joy of life.

Alice’s happy, upbeat personality, her zest for life and with her appreciation of all small things made me instantly connect with her and the more I read the more I wanted to have her as a friend. This was cemented further as she is a florist with the speciality of language of flowers which I have recently started to appreciate. From the start of this emotional novel, I felt her pain of diagnosis and love she feels for those around her as she creates the manual of her heart.  The book she writes is more than a list of instructions, it is a celebration of her overwhelming love for Alex and the strong bond she has with her best friend, Ryan. The positivity and happy memories shared made me want to experience some of it meaning hot chocolate was a must while reading as well as digging out the Abba CD to dance to when on my own.

By the last page, I was left wanting more. I feel the need for a continuation of this beating heart’s story. I want to know if the heart’s recipient goes along with Alice’s wishes or whether they are a little creeped out by receiving a manual alongside a much needed organ as I suspect I would. I want to know how Alex’s copes without her and whether he is as perfect as Alice believes.  This story will stay with me for a long time.

I am looking forward to reading more from SarahJane  Ford and follow her career.

Would I recommend?

Yes, but be prepared to use boxes of tissues and feel envious of the fairytale love most people can only dream of.

Author Biography

author-photo-1

SarahJane Ford

SarahJane is the debut author of ‘I Give You My Heart’ which is due to be published on September 1st 2018.
SarahJane was born in Scotland but grew up in the Cheshire countryside, which is home to her. After a few years living in Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire, where she went to secondary school, she has now settled back in Cheshire in a quirky flat surrounded by trees, birds and rolling fields.A marketing professional since finishing her formal education SarahJane is delighted to be following her writing dream. She still works part-time as a Marketing Manager, whilst furiously penning her second novel.
Harbouring an adventurous spirit, SarahJane loves to travel, be surrounded by the wilderness or be riding Cornish waves.
SarahJane loves to read (ideally by the sea!). She was raised on the greatest love stories, which is where her romantic soul comes from. She is in love with love…Mr Darcy’s brooding looks in Pride and Prejudice; Julia Roberts and Richard Gere’s arresting chemistry in Runaway Bride; the intensely emotional Titanic; going weak at the knees for Danny Zuko in Grease; Cecilia Ahern’s heartbreaking P.S. I Love You and Patrick Swayze’s mega moves in Dirty Dancing.
Social Media Links

Facebook : www.facebook.com/sarahjanefordauthor/
Website: www.sarahjaneford.com

Giveaway

I am pleased to share the chance for you to win signed hardback of I Give You My Heart with a personalised message (UK Only)*

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/33c69494128/?

Thank you Rachel Random Resources for the opportunity to join this blog tour in exchange for an honest review. If you would like to know more about the book and author why not drop into the other blogs below.

Happy Reading!

*Terms and Conditions –UK entries welcome. Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below. The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over. Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data. I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

I Give You My Heart Full Banner

Chasing Eveline book review

Chasing Eveline

Chasing Eveline by Leslie Hauser

Genre: Young Adult

Chasing Eveline fitted into July’s book club’s theme, “All about the Music” like a glove or a cassette slotted into its case. It follows teenage Ivy on her plan to reunite an 1980s indie rock group in the hope it will lead her to find her Mum. Chasing Eveline was Ivy’s mum’s favourite band and she shared her love for it with daughter. The small hurdle of the Chasing Eveline members living in Ireland and lack of money will not stop Ivy’s dream of bringing the group together.
This coming of age story entwines the themes of friendship, family, grief, teenage embarrassment with the love of retro music. Forget streaming and downloads this book is about the joy of cassettes and vinyl. It is light-hearted and easy to read but Leslie Hauser captures the deep emotions grief brings when you are left behind.
I was also relieved this lovely debut did not fall into the trap of the clichéd Hollywood ending.

Rating 🌟🌟🌟

Getting ready for Autumn

September has arrived. The nights are drawing in and that means one thing: Autumn is on its way so we can look forward to snuggly socks, cups of hot chocolate and dark evenings. A perfect combination to encourage reading!

20170809_190128-1
Last month, I concentrated on reading those books waiting patiently on my TBR pile which included:

The Gift by Louise Jenson
Caraval by Stephanie Garber
Chasing Eveline by Leslie Hauser
The Handmaids Tale by Margaret Atwood
Last Seen Alive by Claire Douglas
The Girl who came back by Kerry Wilkinson
The Path Keeper by NJ Simmonds

This month I can’t wait to read:
Marian Keyes The Break
Louise Jensen’s The Surrogate
A flurry of Christmas Themed ones (it is early but luckily,  I love Christmas)

The book club theme for September is Fairy Tales & poetry.

Happy Reading

Love Kate x

Date of book club parties:

Fairy Tales & poetry          29th Sept 2017

Spooky                                  27th Oct 2017

Consult your bucket list     24th Nov 2017

 

 

The problem of the ever growing TBR list

The problem with online book clubs, reading reviews and Kindle deals as well as library browsing and retail shopping, my TBR list is growing faster than I can physically keep up with. My reservation list at the library is full, my bookshelves are overflowing and books are now hiding unsucessfully under the bed. Luckily this month, the theme is to read something from your pile of books waiting to be read. – phew!

I am now faced with the dilemma of what to read? In my stash, there are books from new authors, favourite authors alongside old favourites that long to be revisited, it is difficult to choose. So far I have:

The Gift by Louise Jensen

The Path Keepers by NJ Simmonds

The Other Sister by Rowan Coleman

Angelology by Danielle Trussoni

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafón

Lyrebird by Cecelia Ahern

Last seen alive by Claire Douglas

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

Drowning Ruth by Christina Schwarz

The Mists of Avalon by Marion Zimmer Bradley

and many more. If you have any recommendations on which to read, comment below.

 

What are you reading this month?