Book Review: The Book of Us by Andrea Michael

I am excited to kick of this blog tour and share my review for The Book of Us by Andrea Michael.

Book Review: The Book of Us by Andrea Michael

The Book of Us cover

Book Review: The Book of Us by Andrea Michael

Title: The Book of Us

Author: Andrea Michael

Publisher: One More Chapter, Harper Collins

Release Date: 6th March 2020

Genre: Women’s fiction, Adult fiction

Blurb

The Book of Us is a story of the complexity of forgiveness and the friendships that change our lives forever. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jojo Moyes and Diane Chamberlain.

We’ve got some important things to talk about. It’s time.

Cass and Loll used to be inseparable. They met at university and they made sense, like two halves of a whole. They had planned their lives around each other, writing down their dreams in The Big Book of Our Life – the things they wanted to achieve, the places they’d go after they finished university. But then one night changed everything.

Seven years later, Loll receives a letter from her old friend. The coming year will be the year they both turn 30, but Loll might be making it to 30 alone. Cass has cancer. Loll had believed she would have her whole life to come to terms with Cass’ betrayal, but time is running out. Cass’ final wish is to complete The Big Book of Our Life, but has enough time passed to heal old wounds?

Purchase Links

Amazon – https://amzn.to/2UOqpnW

Waterstones – https://t.co/8R8nkwzQKV?amp=1

My Thoughts

The blurb gave a hint that tissues were required while reading this novel, but I was unprepared by how many I would need. The opening chapter had not finished before a lump formed in my throat; the description of Cass’ ability to soothe Lauren’s pain made me long for my best friend from school. It hit a nerve and the shared loss of a close friendship lured me into the story.

The writing has depth as it explored the complex relationship between Lauren and Cass. Throughout there was a sense of unresolved angst and mystery over what happened to end the friendship and more tears ensued when it was revealed. There were lighter moments as they follow the plan written in their book of their lives and Veronica was a delight to read about.

The novel covers many topics including death and all were handled sensitively as it took me on an emotional, heart tugging journey across the world. It highlighted the importance of friendships and how the camaraderie between women can guide you through the darkest days. By the end of it, I wanted to plan a big girly meet up once lockdown is over and hold my friends tight.

Would I recommend?

This is not a book to read while feeling fragile but is highly recommended. It is a powerful  book about friendship and Cass, Loll and Vee will stay in my heart for a long time. I am on the edge of tears just thinking about them. If you love the movie Beaches, you will love this book. Just stock up on hankies and prepare yourself for an emotional ride.

Author Biography

Andi-1202-2

Andrea Michael

Andrea Michael writes books to explore complicated relationships. Having trained in using writing for therapy, she really believes in the magic of stories to change your life. Failing that, sparkling wine and obnoxious sing-a-longs also do the trick.

Andrea works in content marketing, and runs Writing for Wellbeing workshops. She lives in Hertfordshire with her fiancé and their crazy cat, and can be found reading in a comfy corner or digging something at the allotment.

You may also know her from her romantic comedies written as A L Michael.

Andrea is represented by Hayley Steed at Madeleine Milburn. The Book of Us is her thirteenth book. She’s hoping it’s lucky.

 Social Media Links –

Twitter @almichael_

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Andreamichaelwrites/

Instagram @andreamichaelwrites

Thank you Rachel Random Resources for this copy of this heart tugging read to review and give my unbiased opinion.

Happy reading and stay safe!

Love

Katie signature pink

The Book Of Us Full Tour Banner

Why not visit other blogs on the tour for more info