Book Review: The Book of Us by Andrea Michael

I am excited to kick of this blog tour and share my review for The Book of Us by Andrea Michael.

Book Review: The Book of Us by Andrea Michael

The Book of Us cover

Book Review: The Book of Us by Andrea Michael

Title: The Book of Us

Author: Andrea Michael

Publisher: One More Chapter, Harper Collins

Release Date: 6th March 2020

Genre: Women’s fiction, Adult fiction

Blurb

The Book of Us is a story of the complexity of forgiveness and the friendships that change our lives forever. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Jojo Moyes and Diane Chamberlain.

We’ve got some important things to talk about. It’s time.

Cass and Loll used to be inseparable. They met at university and they made sense, like two halves of a whole. They had planned their lives around each other, writing down their dreams in The Big Book of Our Life – the things they wanted to achieve, the places they’d go after they finished university. But then one night changed everything.

Seven years later, Loll receives a letter from her old friend. The coming year will be the year they both turn 30, but Loll might be making it to 30 alone. Cass has cancer. Loll had believed she would have her whole life to come to terms with Cass’ betrayal, but time is running out. Cass’ final wish is to complete The Big Book of Our Life, but has enough time passed to heal old wounds?

Purchase Links

Amazon – https://amzn.to/2UOqpnW

Waterstones – https://t.co/8R8nkwzQKV?amp=1

My Thoughts

The blurb gave a hint that tissues were required while reading this novel, but I was unprepared by how many I would need. The opening chapter had not finished before a lump formed in my throat; the description of Cass’ ability to soothe Lauren’s pain made me long for my best friend from school. It hit a nerve and the shared loss of a close friendship lured me into the story.

The writing has depth as it explored the complex relationship between Lauren and Cass. Throughout there was a sense of unresolved angst and mystery over what happened to end the friendship and more tears ensued when it was revealed. There were lighter moments as they follow the plan written in their book of their lives and Veronica was a delight to read about.

The novel covers many topics including death and all were handled sensitively as it took me on an emotional, heart tugging journey across the world. It highlighted the importance of friendships and how the camaraderie between women can guide you through the darkest days. By the end of it, I wanted to plan a big girly meet up once lockdown is over and hold my friends tight.

Would I recommend?

This is not a book to read while feeling fragile but is highly recommended. It is a powerful  book about friendship and Cass, Loll and Vee will stay in my heart for a long time. I am on the edge of tears just thinking about them. If you love the movie Beaches, you will love this book. Just stock up on hankies and prepare yourself for an emotional ride.

Author Biography

Andi-1202-2

Andrea Michael

Andrea Michael writes books to explore complicated relationships. Having trained in using writing for therapy, she really believes in the magic of stories to change your life. Failing that, sparkling wine and obnoxious sing-a-longs also do the trick.

Andrea works in content marketing, and runs Writing for Wellbeing workshops. She lives in Hertfordshire with her fiancé and their crazy cat, and can be found reading in a comfy corner or digging something at the allotment.

You may also know her from her romantic comedies written as A L Michael.

Andrea is represented by Hayley Steed at Madeleine Milburn. The Book of Us is her thirteenth book. She’s hoping it’s lucky.

 Social Media Links –

Twitter @almichael_

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Andreamichaelwrites/

Instagram @andreamichaelwrites

Thank you Rachel Random Resources for this copy of this heart tugging read to review and give my unbiased opinion.

Happy reading and stay safe!

Love

Katie signature pink

The Book Of Us Full Tour Banner

Why not visit other blogs on the tour for more info

Book Review and Blog Tour: The Things We Need to Say by Rachel Burton

It is publication day for Rachel Burton’s  The Things We Need to Say. I was lucky enough to receive an advanced copy of this emotional, gripping novel in and I loved it.

 

Book Review for The Things We Need to Say

The Things We Need to Say by Rachel Burton

Title: The Things We Need to Say

Author: Rachel Burton

Genre: Women’s Fiction, Romance

Publication day: 11th May 2018

Purchase on Amazon UKhttp://amzn.to/2kLqSYL

Blurb

Sometimes the things we never say are the most important.

Fran loves Will with all her heart. They had a whirlwind romance, a perfect marriage and a wonderful life. Until everything changed. Now Fran needs to find her way again and teaching a yoga retreat in Spain offers her just that. Leaving behind a broken marriage she has some very important decisions to make.

Will needs his wife, he needs her to open up to him if they’re to ever return to the ways things once were. But he may have damaged any possibility he had of mending their relationship and now Fran is in Spain and Will is alone.

As both Fran and Will begin to let go of a life that could have been, fate may just find a way of bringing them back together.

 Perfect for fans of Katie Marsh, Amanda Prowse and Sheila O’Flanagan

My Thoughts

Poignant, honest and beautifully written, I instantly connected with Fran and Will as they stand at a crossroads in their once secure, loving marriage. This book made my heart ache with emotion as the story unfolded.  This book emphasises how important the things we do not say are and the importance of communication and connection in relationships even when trapped in dark depths of grief.

Fran and Will have had years of heartache with miscarriages when life gives them another blow to deal with. Fran goes to a yoga retreat to heal and make decisions. There she meets a collection of yoga students where secrets revealed and bonds formed allowing hope to form. Rachel Burton deals with the topic sensitively but honestly. Be prepared to cry and your heart to hurt.

Partly set in glorious Catalonia, Rachel Burton paints the landscape with her words. Her descriptions of yoga and the calm and emotional release it gives reminded me why I loved the exercise so much. It has given me a nudge to look into it again.

Fran may not be one for fate but this book arrived at the perfect time and once read  I felt I had been on the retreat myself;  I felt calm and the world was a little bit clearer.

Would I recommend?

Definitely but get some hankies first. I am now nudging her previous book The Many Colours of Us to the top of my reading pile as I love her reading style.
Thank you to Rachel Random Resources for inviting me on this blog tour and Rachel Burton for writing a touching and important book.

 

 

Author Bio

 

IMG_o7m8wq

Rachel Burton

Rachel Burton has been making up stories since she first learned to talk. After many false starts she finally made one up that was worth writing down.

After graduating with a degree in Classics and another in English, she didn’t really know what to do when she grew up. She has worked as a waitress, a paralegal and a yoga teacher.

She has spent most of her life between Cambridge and London but now lives in Leeds with her boyfriend and three cats. The main loves of her life are The Beatles and very tall romantic heroes.

Her debut, The Many Colours of Us, was an Amazon Kindle bestseller. Her second novel, The Things We Need to to Say, is released on 11 May 2018. She is currently working on her third novel in which the heroine follows the love of her life to live in a city in northern England. It has no autobiographical elements at all…..maybe.

Find her on Twitter & Instagram as @bookish_yogi or search Facebook for Rachel Burton Author. She is always happy to talk books, writing, music, cats and how the weather in Yorkshire is rubbish. She is mostly dreaming of her next holiday….

 

Facebook – https://www.facebook.com/rachelburtonauthor/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/bookish_yogi

Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/bookish_yogi/