Book Review: While I was sleeping by Dani Atkins

Book review: While I was sleeping by Dani Atkins

It is sweltering here so all I want to do is read in front of a fan with a good book. I was grateful to have Dani Atkin’s new release on my Kindle. I have read many of her previous novels but will this one be up to her high standard?

While I was sleeping by Dani Atkins

While I was sleeping

Title: While I Was Sleeping

Author: Dani Atkins

Publisher: Simon and Schuster UK Fiction

Release date: 26th July 2018

Blurb

A brand new and brilliant emotional family drama for fans of Jojo Moyes and Dorothy Koomson, from the bestselling author of Fractured.

I don’t remember what happened or what has changed.

I can still hear your voices but you can’t seem to hear me.

I was about to be married and had everything to look forward to.

Now I have to find a way back – to you, to our family, to us.

My Thoughts

To be honest, the first words I thought when I reached the end was ‘Bloody Hell!’ swiftly followed by ‘how am I going to review this without revealing any spoilers’. The answer is to keep it short and simple with no detail at all.

Dani Atkins’ strong talent drew me into all the characters lives and thoughts.  She made me care for both Maddie and Chloe before delivering the emotional journey she is known for. Readers of her other work will know you need to switch your phone off to avoid distractions when reading her novels and a big box of tissues has to be close by. For newbies  to her work, take heed once start you don’t want to be bothered by reality until end of the last page. I was grateful my body declared a duvet day so I could read it in a day.

I have read several of Dani Atkins’ novels and they just keep getting better. I loved the premise and characters even when I shouted at a couple of them. It shows a lot can happen while you are sleeping.

Would I recommend?

Oh yes. Buy or borrow the book and arrange a duvet day or time at the beach with plenty of hankies because you will be in for an emotional treat.

Thank you to NetGalley and Simon and Schuster UK for allowing me to read an advanced copy in exchange for an honest and impartial review.

Have you read this or any other books by Dani Atkins? Which is your favourite and why?

Happy reading!

Book Review: This Love by Dani Atkins

As a fan of Fractured and Our Song I was excited to see Dani Atkins’ new book This Love sitting on the library bookshelf. I was not disappointed and could easily have read it in one session.

 Title  This Love

Author Dani Atkins

Blurb 

Sophie stopped believing in happy endings a long time ago, but could this love change all of that?

Sophie Winter lives in a self-imposed cocoon – she’s a single, 31-year-old translator who works from home in her one-bedroom flat. This isn’t really the life she dreamed of, but then Sophie stopped believing in dreams when she was a teenager and tragedy struck her family.
 
So, to be safe, she keeps everyone at arm’s length. Sophie understands she has a problem, but recognising it and knowing how to fix it are two entirely different things.

One night a serious fire breaks out in the flat below hers. Sophie is trapped in the burning building until a passer-by, Ben, sees her and rescues her.

Suddenly her cocoon is shattered – what will be the consequences of this second life-changing event?

After reading Dani Atkins’ other books, I should have known this one would require a box of tissues. I think her books are top contenders for those requiring a tissue warning and possibly come with a supply of Kleenex and chocolate to help you recover from the emotional rollercoaster you experience while reading them. She has an ability to create interesting characters you become attached to and stay with you long after you turn the last page.

It is a romance which deals with love, friendship, grief and loss as well as living for the moment. The story begins with a bang and ends with a twist you would not imagine. It is a must for fans of Jojo Moyes, Jill Mansell and Dorothy Koomson.

It will take me a while to recover rom this one so my next read – Tom Hanks’ Uncommon Type – needs to be very good to keep my attention.