Book Review: This Love by Dani Atkins

As a fan of Fractured and Our Song I was excited to see Dani Atkins’ new book This Love sitting on the library bookshelf. I was not disappointed and could easily have read it in one session.

 Title  This Love

Author Dani Atkins

Blurb 

Sophie stopped believing in happy endings a long time ago, but could this love change all of that?

Sophie Winter lives in a self-imposed cocoon – she’s a single, 31-year-old translator who works from home in her one-bedroom flat. This isn’t really the life she dreamed of, but then Sophie stopped believing in dreams when she was a teenager and tragedy struck her family.
 
So, to be safe, she keeps everyone at arm’s length. Sophie understands she has a problem, but recognising it and knowing how to fix it are two entirely different things.

One night a serious fire breaks out in the flat below hers. Sophie is trapped in the burning building until a passer-by, Ben, sees her and rescues her.

Suddenly her cocoon is shattered – what will be the consequences of this second life-changing event?

After reading Dani Atkins’ other books, I should have known this one would require a box of tissues. I think her books are top contenders for those requiring a tissue warning and possibly come with a supply of Kleenex and chocolate to help you recover from the emotional rollercoaster you experience while reading them. She has an ability to create interesting characters you become attached to and stay with you long after you turn the last page.

It is a romance which deals with love, friendship, grief and loss as well as living for the moment. The story begins with a bang and ends with a twist you would not imagine. It is a must for fans of Jojo Moyes, Jill Mansell and Dorothy Koomson.

It will take me a while to recover rom this one so my next read – Tom Hanks’ Uncommon Type – needs to be very good to keep my attention.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s